What Is The Cheapest Car Insurance For No License Drivers
We dont have exact rates, but the best way to find the cheapest auto insurance premiums if you dont have a drivers license is to start by finding out which companies will sell you a policy, as we described in the last section.
Once you know who you can purchase coverage from as an unlicensed driver, you should get quotes from each company so you can compare rates to find the most affordable coverage.
Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
You Have A Vintage Vehicle You Want To Insure Against Theft Or Calamity
Perhaps you have a collectible car you keep for display purposes. You have no interest in driving the car, but you want to insure it because its an expensive item that you care about. What you need is unlicensed driver’s insurance.
Penalties For Driving Without A License
If you are planning to drive a vehicle without a valid drivers license, dont. Driving without a license is a terrible idea and can result in major penalties.
Specific fines vary by state, but in many cases, your vehicle will be impounded and youll spend six months in prison. Most states issue fines for a first offense ranging from $100 to $1,000. In Indiana, fines can be as high as $10,000.
Having unlicensed driver’s insurance will not shield you from the penalties of driving without a license.
Don’t Miss: Cigna Cancel Insurance
Smartfinancial Knows Insurance Companies And Insurance Policies
To find the lowest insurance rates, enter your zip code below or call 855-214-2291 to speak one-on-one with a SmartFinancial insurance specialist. No matter your situation, SmartFinancial will compare insurance companies’ policies to pinpoint the best, lowest-cost car insurance for you and your budget, even if you don’t have a driver’s license.
About the Author
David Joy is a freelance writer and editor living in New York City. He has written on many topics related to the insurance industry including company overviews, product explainers and policy comparisons. He has worked in publishing for more than 25 years, editing books, newspapers, magazines and websites.
Should You Have Insurance If You Have A Car But Not A License
If your car is going to be driven at all either by you or someone else you need car insurance in nearly every state. Even in places where you arent legally required for purchasing car insurance, such as New Hampshire, you should buy an insurance policy.
Getting into an accident without insurance leaves you financially responsible for all damages you cause. This can be ruinous. Insurance protects you from such a fate.
You May Like: Can Health Coaches Bill Insurance
Do You Need A License To Get Car Insurance
It seems logical: To get auto insurance, you probably think you need a driver’s license. But that isnt necessarily the case.
It is possible to get car insurance if you dont have a license, says Loretta Worters, vice president of media relations for the Insurance Information Institute.
In fact, there are many possible situations in which you may need insurance even if you dont drive. Fortunately, car insurance companies may be willing to work with you to get the coverage you need, even if you don’t drive.
You Own A Vintage Vehicle That Sits In Your Garage
If you purchase a vintage car you dont take out on the road, it still needs to be insured against theft or damage. Even if youre keeping it as a prized possession and have no intention of driving it, it still makes sense to get a no license policy that covers non-collision situations, including vandalism or a tree falling on it and smashing the windshield.
Recommended Reading: Does Lightning Mcqueen Get Car Insurance Or Life Insurance
Your License Is Suspended
If you get charged with a DUI, or have a messy driving record, it is possible that your license could get suspended. If that is the case, you will not be able to get it back until you have shown proof of financial responsibility with an SR-22 certificate. An SR-22 is not actually insurance but is a certificate that proves to the court that you have the minimum amount of liability insurance required by your state.
Sr22 Forms Unlicensed Drivers & Car Insurance
If youre dealing with the ramifications of a drivers license suspension, expect to hear about an SR22 or a policy certified for financial responsibility .
An SR22 is a certification an insurance company must provide to your state’s department of motor vehicles or similar authority when you apply to have your driving privileges reinstated. Its sometimes referred to as SR22 insurance, but an SR22 is not insurance. Some companies call it a certificate of financial responsibility. In most states youll be required to maintain the SR22 certification for 3 years.
Don’t Miss: Can Dental Insurance Cover Veneers
Can I Get Car Insurance Without A License
As far as insurance companies are concerned, a driver without a valid drivers license poses a huge risk to their business. Hence, most car insurance companies seek your drivers license number before they let you buy car insurance.
However, even if you dont have a drivers license, you may be able to get car insurance. Some insurance providers will allow you to apply for coverage using the name and license number of the principal driver or primary driver instead of your own. Your insurance company will name you on the policy and cover your car, but you wont be driving.
Getting Car Insurance With A Permit
Most states offer provisional licenses to people learning how to drive, usually calledlearnerâs permits. If youâre a teen with a permit, you should be listed on your parentsâ policy. But if you have your own car and donât have a household policy to join, you may need to purchase car insurance while you still have a permit. However, if youâre under 18, youâll need an adult on the policy too.
Don’t Miss: State Farm Insurance Dog Breed Restrictions
How Long Does A License Suspension Last
The length of the suspension varies according to state and the severity of the violation. For example, the first time you get a DUI in the state of California there is a minimum license suspension of six months.
If you get your license suspended for any reason, it will have a negative impact on your insurance rate. Moving violations often lead to higher insurance premiums because the insurance company views reckless driving as a major risk.
Many of us may be relieved to know that, when determining an annual premium, most auto insurance companies will only review the past three to five years of your driving record.
Be Honest About Not Having A License
When looking for a car insurance quote, make sure to be honest about not having a driver’s license. As part of the quoting process, auto insurance providers will run a Motor Vehicle Report to access your driving history. Your driver’s license number or lack of one will be included in the MVR. Submitting a fake driver’s license number is fraud.
Don’t Miss: American Income Life Insurance Pyramid Scheme
Do You Need Insurance If You Have A License But No Car
- Do You Need Insurance if You Have a License but No Car?
Car insurance is required by law. But, you dont necessarily need a car to drive all you need is a license. What if you have a license but no car, do you still need coverage? How would you get it if you do? Lets go over when you need car insurance when you dont have a car, and how much it might cost you.
Who Should Get Non Owner Car Insurance
Non-owners car insurance is a good fit for you if you frequently rent vehicles or drive someone elses car, or are trying to keep continuous coverage during the time you dont own a vehicle. Additionally, non-owner car insurance is used by high-risk drivers who are required to buy a liability policy to keep a drivers license.
Don’t Miss: American Income Life Insurance Scam Or Not
Can You Get Car Insurance With A Suspended License
Weâve covered scenarios where you might need car insurance despite not having a valid driverâs license. But what if you did have a license, and itâs been suspended?
There are several reasons why your driverâs license can be suspended, including being convicted of a DUI, having repeat traffic violations or having an at-fault accident without car insurance. If your license is suspended, you canât legally drive until itâs reinstated. But that doesnât mean you donât need car insurance.
In fact, if your license is suspended, you may actually need car insurance, to prove to the state that youâre protected. You prove your insurance coverage to the state by having your carrier submit an SR-22 compliance form to them.
Why Insure A Car You Cant Drive
Regardless of which insurance you choose, why even do it in the first place?
There are a few different reasons you may need auto insurance coverage without being able to drive. Perhaps you still have only a drivers permit. Or maybe its a legal issue that will only be temporary.
Aside from the fact that its the law to have your car insured at all times, you want to protect your vehicle the best you can. Even if it is in the garage for a while.
You May Like: Does Windshield Replacement Increase Insurance
What Is Non Owner Insurance
Non-owner car insurance is liability-only coverage for drivers who dont own a car. When youre driving a car that someone else owns and cause an accident, it will pay for injuries and damage to others and their property.
Non-owners car insurance is typically a secondary coverage, which means it is used if the car owners insurance falls short in paying for the repair and medical bills in an accident thats your fault. The insurance policy on the car youre borrowing will be used first, and then your non-owners policy kicks in if you have higher liability limits than the car owner.
For example, lets say your non-owner policy has $50,000 in property damage liability, and the owner of the car youre driving has $25,000 in property damage liability. You borrow the car and cause an accident with $40,000 in damages. Your friends policy would pay out $25,000, and your non-owner policy would cover the extra $15,000 because your limits are higher and you have coverage.
However, non-owners car insurance wont cover damage to the car youre driving or cover your injuries if youre at fault for an accident.
You Do Not Drive But Your Student Driver Does
Say you purchase a car for your teens 16th birthday when they get a drivers license. Even if you arent driving the vehicle, the car will still need to be insured. In almost every state, you will not be able to register the car with the department of motor vehicles unless you can show proof of insurance first. And if your teenager is not old enough to be on their own policy, they would need to be listed as a driver on the policy of someone age 18 or older. Adding a teen to your policy can increase your rates significantly, so you may want to shop around and compare car insurance quotes to see which company offers you the lowest rate.
Our Recommendations For Car Insurance
Not every provider will underwrite an unlicensed driver’s insurance policies. Most national providers will not. If you plan to buy insurance in your own name, you may need to check with regional insurance companies. If you decide to co-title your vehicle, your insurance options will broaden.
To find cheap car insurance, enter your zip code and start comparing auto insurance quotes. If you want to speak to a representative or need help getting car insurance quotes, call .
When Do You Need Unlicensed Driver’s Insurance
If you want unlicensed driver’s insurance, call up your top choices for car insurance providers and explain your situation. Under no circumstances should you lie to the insurance company. If your lie is found out, your policy will be canceled and auto insurance coverage denied.
General strategies for how to buy car insurance as an unlicensed driver will vary depending on your reason for getting insurance.
Recommended Reading: How Much Are Clear Choice Dentures
How To Get Auto Insurance For Unlicensed Drivers
You should get quotes from small and regional companies or contact a local independent agent who may be familiar with insurers that provide policies to unlicensed drivers. You may need to call insurers directly, as you typically must provide a valid license number when you buy car insurance online.
Keep Your Driving Record Clean
In almost any instance, policyholders can save on their car insurance by keeping their driving history free of collisions, claims, and accidents. Unlicensed drivers who choose to buy policies can list themselves or other drivers as excluded drivers if they are considered high-risk. If you have a suspended license, see what options are available to dispute your claims or lower costs.
You May Like: Army Dental Insurance For Dependents
Can I Buy A Car Without A License
Although you are not required to have a valid license to purchase a vehicle, it could be difficult. Most dealers are not willing to finance a vehicle for an unlicensed individual.
You may consider obtaining a loan through your local bank or credit union, instead. Just remember that youll be required to obtain insurance for it so know your options detailed above before you buy.
Do I Need To Have An Alberta Driver’s License To Get Auto Insurance
No you don’t. A valid license from another province or country and/or international license is sufficient. Even a learner’s license, or Class 7, is eligible for insurance coverage but does include some restrictions. If you have any more questions, a broker can give you additional information regarding your licensing.
Can I Buy Car Insurance Without A Driver’s License
If you’re asking this question about car insurance, you’re most likely planning to give someone else permission to drive your car on a fairly regular basis. Obviously, you yourself couldn’t be the driver because no state in the U.S. allows an unlicensed citizen to get behind the wheel of a vehicle to cruise down the road or even idle in a parked car in a parking lot.
So if a spouse, a family member, a friend or, say, a roommate will be using your ride, your ride needs to have insurance coverage. And, yes, you can get insurance for your car without a license, but the process may be a bit more complicated than if you yourself were licensed.
You Dont Drive But You Have A Student Driver Who Does
Suppose you buy a car for your teen when they turn 16 and get their drivers license. Even if youre not the one wholl be driving the vehicle, you still need to get auto insurance for it. Most states dont allow vehicle owners to register their car with the Department of Motor Vehicles without providing proof of insurance first.
If your teen isnt old enough to be on their own policy, you would need to register them on the policy of someone else aged 18 years or older. If you dont drive, your best bet would be to get a no license insurance policy and list them on it.
Recommended Reading: Travelocity Travel Protection Plan
Drivers Education And The Drivers License Exam
In some states, you need to take a drivers education course before you can even get a learners permit or temporary license. Although teen drivers often take drivers ed in high school as an elective class, its also offered by state-run or state-sponsored schools for adults.
You probably wont need your own car insurance policy while youre in the class because the state or school usually provides insured cars for student use. As a new driver in the class, youll automatically be covered.
After youve finished a drivers education course and practiced using a learners permit, youll be ready to take your drivers license exam. Before you can test, you must prove the car youre using has insurance coverage.
Find The Right Solution For Your Circumstances
The Balance / Nusha Ashjaee
Why would you need car insurance if you dont have a license? Legally, you dont need a drivers license to purchase a car. You might buy a car to give as a gift and want to insure it in the meantime. Or you might lose your license for any number of reasons but still have a car under your name. Getting car insurance even when you dont have a license protects your investment if its damaged or stolen.
But its not easy to buy insurance without a drivers license number. Insurers use the number to check your driving history and assess whether youre a high-risk driver. They also worry about whether theyll be stuck paying bills for an accident if you decide to drive unlicensed. Because of this added risk, you might have to look beyond big-name insurance companies. A non-standard insurer may be willing to take you on.