Texas Car Registration Requirements
In Texas, a non-resident doesn’t need to register their vehicle if they plan not to make more than five occasional trips longer than five days each. If you plan to move to Texas, you have up to 30 days to register your vehicle with the state.
To learn more about registering a car in Texas, read our blog post: How to register a car in Texas.
Our Recommended Car Insurance Providers
When shopping for new car insurance, its smart to compare quotes. When we researched insurance industry leaders, Progressive and State Farm were two providers that stood out for extensive coverage and reasonable rates.
If youre ready to start comparing car insurance quotes, enter your zip code below or give our team a call at . Along with the providers you choose, factors like your age, vehicle make and model, and driving history can affect the car insurance rates you see.
Why Is Lying About Your Address Considered Auto Insurance Fraud
If you move to a new state and do not tell your insurance providers, you could be charged with misrepresenting material risk, otherwise known as insurance fraud.
Lying about your address is considered fraud because your auto insurance rates are partially based upon your current address.
If you dont tell your insurance provider your primary address, whether thats because you want a cheaper rate, or you simply forgot, then youre driving without valid insurance.
When you move, the data and statistics for your new city and state will be different than your old location. The underwriting process must be performed again to ensure that youre paying the appropriate amount for your coverage.
Shouse Law Group Channel describes the different types of auto insurance fraud, including deliberately using a false address to get coverage.
According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, auto insurance fraud is the most common form of insurance fraud in the United States.
The worst possible consequence that could happen if you get caught committing insurance fraud is potential jail time. Fortunately, this is also the most unlikely scenario as well.
Most insurance companies are more interested in getting the money you owe than sending you to jail. However, insurance fraud is a crime and the insurance company doesnt have to file charges against you for you to be investigated for fraud.
You May Like: How Much Does Clear Choice Dentistry Cost
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
If a law enforcement officer stops you while you are driving and requests that you verify proof of auto insurance or self-insurance and you are unable to do so at that time, it will result in a traffic citation and additional penalties. If, before your court date, you are able to prove that you did indeed have insurance and still have the proper amount of minimum insurance, then you may be able to have the citation dismissed and will not be penalized further.
For all citations, you can anticipate three specific penalties: a fine of at least $500 driving privileges suspended and an SR-22 requirement for 2 years. To note, the court can attach additional fees and penalties regardless if it was your first or fifth offense.
|3-month suspension: driver’s license, registration and license plate.||SR-22 certificate for two years.|
|Second Offense||6-month suspension: driver’s license, registration and license plate.||SR-22 certificate for two years.|
|Third and Subsequent Offenses||1-year suspension: driver’s license, registration and license plate.||SR-22 certificate for two years.|
Why Is Arizona Car Registration Required
Registering a car in Arizona isnt just something you should do its the law. According to Arizona law, you have 15 days to apply for title and registration when you buy a car in the state of Arizona.
If you recently moved to Arizona, once you establish residency youll need to pursue Arizona car registration.
You May Like: How To Calculate Basic Premium For Car Insurance
Its All About You We Want To Help You Make The Right Coverage Choices
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our insurance industry partnerships dont influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Do you plan on moving to a different state than where you currently reside or own a car at a vacation home out of state? You may be wondering if you can register a car in a different state than you currently live in. The short answer is yes, but regulations vary from state to state. Read more to find out your specific states car registration requirements.
Contact An Experienced Attorney
If you have been cited for driving without auto insurance, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to see what your legal options are. If you want the charge or driving without auto insurance reduced or dismissed altogether, you need to contact the Law Offices of Shawn B. Hamp today. Time is of the essence to get your case settled before the DMV takes action on your driving privileges.
Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you shortly.
Please complete all required fields below.
Read Also: Does Dental Insurance Cover Veneers
Should You Buy A Car Or Insurance First
In most cases, you want to buy car insurance before you buy a car. The exception to this is if you already have an insurance policy for a different vehicle.
If you are adding a vehicle to your policy or replacing one, your existing policy should cover the new car too, so you dont need a new policy before you drive the vehicle home.
If you dont have insurance, you can purchase a your new ride first, but its easier if you can get the car insurance policy first so you can take possession of the car on the purchase date.
Here are a few more things you should know about insurance when buying a car:
Do You Need Coverage To Register A Car
Most states require that you purchase insurance coverage before you register your car. An insurance card or a printout detailing your coverage is typically adequate. Your DMV agent will verify the proof of insurance is valid, lists the vehicle you want to register, and provides the state minimum coverage.
Depending on the state, drivers must renew their registration every one to five years. Most states offer an online renewal system, and you can sign up for automatic renewal reminders. By tying registration and auto insurance obligations together, states hope to reduce the number of uninsured drivers on the road. However, statistics show that most cases of uninsured drivers are due to lapsed policies.
New Hampshire is the only state that doesn’t require drivers to purchase liability insurance to operate a car. However, it does require proof of financial responsibility enough to cover the cost of an at-fault accident, says ValuePenguin.
Also Check: Is Seven Corners Travel Insurance Good
Who Needs To Register A Car In Arizona
There are two situations when you need to register a car in Arizona.
When you buy a new car, registration may be taken care of by the dealership. If you buy a used car from a private party, you may need to apply for a title transfer.
According to the Arizona Department of Transportation , eTitle Transfer allows qualified sellers and buyers to transfer vehicle ownership electronically. Utilizing a secure online system, customers can complete the process without visiting an MVD office.
If you dont complete the Arizona car registration process within 15 days, you may be hit with a title transfer penalty fee. The late registration fee is $8 and another $4 for every month after that it is late.
Not All States Require Insurance And Registration At The Same Time
You must have auto insurance before registering your car in most states and territories in the U.S.
Some states, such as Arizona, Iowa, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Tennessee, and Wisconsin, dont require drivers to have auto insurance before registering a car, but generally, drivers need insurance. However, its a wise idea to get liability insurance and other insurance coverage, as New Hampshire drivers must show proof of financial responsibility. Car insurance is a good idea, as it can help protect your finances, vehicles, and wellbeing. In New Hampshire, drivers will have to deposit $25,000 to $50,000 with the state treasurer to avoid purchasing a car insurance policy. If you dont have that kind of money lying around and live in New Hampshire, getting auto insurance and keeping it current is a good idea.
You May Like: How To Calculate Basic Premium For Car Insurance
Timeframe To Register Your Vehicle In A New State
Your car should not be registered in one state and insured in another. Insuring your car in a state where you dont reside is fraud. Insurance fraud carries heavy penalties, the least of which is that your claims will be denied.
Your drivers license, registration, and car insurance need to match. In many states, you cant even register your car until youve provided proof of insurance.
Even states that allow you to register a car without proof of insurance require you to provide proof of insurance within a certain timeframe.
If you move to a different state, youre required to register your vehicle with that states Department of Motor Vehicles . The timeframe in which you must do so varies by state.
If you are visiting a state temporarily, you do not need to register your vehicle. All states allow you to drive an out-of-state car for a certain number of consecutive days .
Here’s how long each state allows drivers to register vehicles after moving.
After you establish residency in a new state, changing your license, registration, and auto insurance should be among your first priorities.
Other Reasons To Avoid Driving Without Insurance
Auto insurance can be expensive, there is no doubt about it. Saving a little money in the short-term, however, could have long-term consequences. In addition to the above-penalties, there are other reasons why you should want to avoid driving without auto insurance in Arizona.
Also Check: Does Insurance Cover Bridges
Do You Need Car Insurance To Register A Car In Pennsylvania
Yes, you will need proof that your vehicle is insured in order to register your car in Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania law requires all vehicle owners to carry liability insurance coverage on any currently registered automobile.
The minimum car insurance requirements in Pennsylvania are:
- Bodily injury $15,000 per person
- Bodily injury $30,000 per accident
- Property damage $5,000 per accident
- $5,000 per accident
While that is the minimum required by Pennsylvania, you may need more coverage if you are financing or leasing your car. Even if you arent, its often recommended that you purchase more than the minimum requirements in order to have more protection.
There are several forms of acceptable proof of valid insurance, including:
- A valid insurance identification card
- The declaration page of an insurance policy
- A copy of a valid insurance binder or,
- A copy of an application for insurance through the Pennsylvania Assigned Risk Plan.
You must have proof of insurance for each vehicle registered with Pennsylvania.
In Pennsylvania, insurance companies are required to notify the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation when a policy is canceled by the insured party, but they are not required to notify the state if youve changed insurance companies. You are responsible for that notification.
Colorado Car Registration Requirements
Colorado requires you to register your car within 90 days of becoming a resident of Colorado. There is a $25 unregistered surcharge each month if drivers do not pay within the 90-day time frame. If you keep your out-of-state registered vehicle in Colorado, your license may be suspended.
To learn more about registering a car in Colorado, read our blog post: How to register a car in Colorado
Read Also: Does My Car Insurance Cover Broken Windows
Arizona Frequently Asked Questions
For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona. What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration? Most drivers can renew car registration online. In that case, you must provide your name, last four digits of your Social Security Number and driver s license number.
Is A Car Title And Registration The Same Thing
A cars title is a document that establishes the owner of a registered vehicle , while a cars registration allows the car to be driven on public roads. Vehicle registrations need to be renewed every year or two, while car titles do not. Theres lots of paperwork involved when it comes to buying a new car .
You May Like: What Does Travelocity Travel Insurance Cover
What Happens If You Drive Uninsured
It depends on where you live. Different states have different penalties. In many states, driving without insurance is a misdemeanor, and you could be subject to:
- Fines, which may range from $25 to $2,500 and are typically higher for repeat offenders.
- Suspension of your license and/or registration. If your license or registration gets suspended, youll likely have to pay to get them reinstated. And thats on top of any other fines you might face.
- Jail time
- Filing an SR-22 to prove you have insurance
- Community service
There is no penalty for driving uninsured in New Hampshire. Uninsured Virginia drivers must pay a fee of $500 if they want to register a car and drive without insurance.
Wyoming Car Registration Requirements
Any vehicle owned by a non-resident that is properly registered in another state is not required to be registered in Wyoming. Non-residents vacationing in Wyoming may drive with their out-of-state plates for a maximum of 120 days. If you have moved to Wyoming, you have up to 30 days after your arrival to register your vehicle.
Although registering a car in a different state than you currently live in varies from state to state, regardless of what state you live in, registering your vehicle is a must.
In most states, you’re required to have proof of valid car insurance coverage in your state to register your car. Car insurance rates vary by state and by many factors specific to you and your car. They can also vary based on the company you choose.
If you are thinking about registering your vehicle in another state, make sure you know their requirements. It also might be beneficial to look into the insurance coverage each state requires. Use our free tool to compare insurance quotes in your area or the area you want to register in. It’s simple, just enter your ZIP code! Find the best and cheapest car insurance.
Recommended Reading: Does My Car Insurance Cover Broken Windows
What Do I Need To Complete My Mvd Tasks At Aaa
Bring the following with you to your AAA branch:
- Your MVD paperwork
- A form of payment. We accept most major credit cards and cash. Kiosks do not accept cash
- Your name must be on the vehicle title or registration. All parties involved must be AAA Members.
Visit one of the AAA branches listed below to take advantage of these services. In-branch MVD services are available to AAA Members as well as non-members.
Do All Carriers Offer A Car Insurance Grace Period
In short, no, but many have car insurance grace periods to remain competitive, so it’s important to talk to an insurance agent about plan details. Some companies may even also allow a specific number of late payments before enforcing stricter regulations such as if youre late on your payments three months in a row.
Most companies do not want to lose you as a customer over one late payment. However, since car insurance plans are based on trust, be sure to do your due diligence to alert your company of any complications.
Read Also: Does Aspen Dental Take Cigna Insurance
Proof Of Insurance Time Limits
If your state doesn’t require proof of insurance when you register your vehicle, you have 30 to 45 days to provide the DMV with a copy of your insurance card. If you fail to provide proof of insurance, your vehicle registration and even your driver’s license could be suspended, as is the case in Missouri, according to AutoInsurance.org. To avoid fines and penalties, use an insurance comparison quote tool to locate a new policy quickly.