Florida Car Insurance Laws: Everything You Need To Know
Understanding Florida car insurance laws is crucial if you have recently moved to the Florida area or simply aren’t familiar with the state’s laws regarding car insurance.
Understanding Florida car insurance laws is crucial if you have recently moved to the Florida area or simply aren’t familiar with the state’s laws regarding car insurance. This guide will give you a brief yet detailed explanation of the various Florida car insurance laws and policies of The Sunshine State. Let’s take a look at these nine questions often asked by licensed Florida drivers.
Is Car Insurance Required In Florida
Like most states, Florida requires drivers to have car insurance. However, Floridas car insurance laws are much different from most other states. Florida has no-fault car insurance laws, which not only can result in higher rates but can also cause some difficulties in an accident. There are specific car insurance requirements for all Florida drivers and additional coverage options that you might consider.
Requesting The Other Partys Insurance Information
Section 324.242, Florida Statutes, only allows release of insurance information for a vehicle involved in a crash to:
- A person involved in the crash
- Their attorney or
- A representative of the insurer of anyone involved in the crash.
If you need the other partys insurance coverage, please complete the following:
Customer Service Correspondence Center2900 Apalachee Parkway, Room A216, MS 99Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0585
You May Like: How To Become A Health Insurance Broker
Alternative Proof Of Financial Responsibility
Besides getting an insurance policy, there is one other way to satisfy the minimum requirements: by insuring yourself. Drivers who demonstrate sufficient financial ability to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may be approved for a certificate of self-insurance. If you become a self-insurer, you will be liable for the same amount of coverage as would an insurance company under the split limits of 10/20/10 for BIL and PDL coverage, as well as $10,000 in PIP coverage.
Necessary documents to apply for self-insurance include all of the following:
- A notarized financial statement that shows assets worth at least $40,000 , also known as the statement of net worth. You may select the assets you choose to list on the balance sheet.
- The license and Social Security numbers of all drivers who will hold the certificate of self-insurance.
- A list of all of the vehicles covered under the certificate, including the make, model and year VIN and license plate number of each.
Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the authorâs opinions and recommendations alone. It has not been previewed, commissioned or otherwise endorsed by any of our network partners.
Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements In Florida
Whether or not youre at fault, you can expect auto insurance coverage to kick in to cover the cost. So long as your vehicles insurance coverage meets the requirements of Florida, youre free to drive legally. If you become the cause of an accident in a state of influence that results in multiple injuries, you will have to adhere to additional requirements outlined by the Florida state.
Whenever you decide to get auto insurance coverage in Florida, your policy should include property damage liability and personal injury protection.
You May Like: Does Insurance Cover Dental Bridges
Cheapest Auto Insurance In Florida For 40
Drivers with poor credit in Florida can check out the following insurers with the lowest average rates for full coverage:
State Farm: $3,433 per year, or about $286 per month.
Direct Auto: $3,533 per year, or about $294 per month.
Geico: $3,559 per year, or about $297 per month.
Allstate: $4,938 per year, or about $412 per month.
MetLife: $5,327 per year, or about $444 per month.
Protect Your Business Vehicles With A Florida Commercial Auto Policy
Many of Floridas 2.5 million small businesses need commercial auto insurance to protect against liabilities that arise from a variety of incidents involving their work vehicles. Personal auto policies generally dont cover vehicles used for business because theyre typically exposed to more liability than personal vehicles.
Over 700,000 small business owners across America trust us to insure their commercial vehicles. Each get customized coverage to match their unique business needs whether they own a real-estate business in Tampa or a landscaping company in Orlando.
Don’t Miss: Embrace Pet Insurance Usaa
Florida Minimum Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
Insurance requirements vary depending on the size and type of vehicle. However, most commercial vehicles in Florida are legally required to meet the following minimum levels of combined bodily injury liability insurance and property damage liability insurance.
For a commercial vehicle weighing:
- Between 26,000 and 35,000 pounds $50,000 per occurrence
- More than 35,000 pounds but less than 44,000 pounds $100,000 per occurrence
- More than 44,000 pounds $300,000 per occurrence
Direct Auto offers competitively priced commercial auto insurance with flexible payment options and discounts for small business owners.
Cheapest Full Coverage Car Insurance In Florida For 60
Drivers in Florida with clean driving records may want to think about getting quotes from these companies, which had the lowest average rates:
State Farm: $1,833 per year, or about $153 per month.
Geico: $1,873 per year, or about $156 per month.
Allstate: $2,471 per year, or about $206 per month.
MetLife: $2,552 per year, or about $213 per month.
Progressive: $2,984 per year, or about $249 per month.
Don’t Miss: Is American Income Life Insurance Legit
Minimum Pip Insurance Required In Florida
Florida requires very low coverage amounts, and uses a secure auto insurance system. If you are injured in a car accident, you will first file a Personal Injury Protection claim .
- $10,000 in property damage liability coverage
Basic PIP insurance in Florida covers:
- 80% of necessary medical costs such as ambulance costs, doctor bills, x-rays, nursing, surgery, dental work and prosthetics. Florida PIP will cover massage and acupuncture bills after an accident. It also covers:
- 60% of lost pay if you cant work due to injuries
- Replacement services for household chores that you cannot do because of the accident
- $5,000 in death compensation
You will choose a discount for the PIP. Options are non-deductible, $250, $500, or $1000. The withholding amount is the amount deducted from the PIP claim check. The higher the discount, the lower your PIP cost.
How Do I Get Cheap Car Insurance Quotes In Florida
One of the best ways to find cheap car insurance is to get quotes from several carriers. You can often get quotes online or by phone, or you could consider visiting a local agency. You will need the name, dates of birth and drivers license numbers of every driver you need to insure, as well as the vehicle identification numbers of each of your cars. Knowing what coverage types you need can make the process faster, but a licensed insurance agent should be able to help you decide what options fit your situation. Once you have obtained quotes, you can compare premiums, coverages, discounts and third-party rankings to decide what company is right for you.
Recommended Reading: Travelocity Trip Insurance
Cheapest Minimum Coverage Car Insurance In Florida For 40
Drivers in Florida who want just the minimum coverage may want to check prices from these companies, which had the lowest average rates:
Geico: $704 per year, or about $59 per month.
State Farm: $784 per year, or about $65 per month.
Allstate: $949 per year, or about $79 per month.
MetLife: $1,129 per year, or about $94 per month.
Direct Auto: $1,231 per year, or about $103 per month.
Is Additional Coverage Mandatory
Many people are confused about whether or not the car rental insurance offered at the counter is required. Florida requires car rental companies to carry insurance on their vehicle. However, there is no corresponding law that says that someone has to purchase additional insurance.
Rental car insurance in Florida is optional for those people who meet the circumstances listed above. Yet some car rental companies are suspected of pushing optional insurance policies on renters as if they were mandatory. If you purchased car rental insurance under the impression that it was required, you may be able to seek compensation.
Don’t Miss: Aspen Dental Class Action Lawsuit 2018
When Can The Car Be Assembled
If your car is badly damaged in a car accident, your insurance company may decide its all collected. Under Florida law, a vehicle can be considered assembled when repair costs exceed 80% of its value. Florida law also says vehicle It must be collected When repairs exceed 100% of the value.
Collision and comprehensive insurance provides payment for collected vehicles. They will pay for the car if it is stolen, crashed, flooded, fire or other problems. Your deductible will reduce your security check.
Car Accident Laws In Florida: Everything You Need To Know
Car accidents happen every day, and Florida drivers should be aware of the state laws that pertain to auto injury cases. Understanding what you need to do after a car accident and the laws that may impact a future claim is important. Here are the main Florida auto accident laws that drivers should be aware of.
All drivers in the state of Florida are required to carry the following insurance requirements:
- $10,000 per individual and $20,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $10,000 per accident for property damage
- $10,000 for personal injury protection
- $10,000 per individual and $20,000 per accident
You should keep in mind that Floridas financial responsibility law may have higher requirements for certain types of motorists based on their driving history. If a driver has been convicted of DIU or had their license revoked because of repeated offenses, they may be required to carry full liability insurance.
Don’t Miss: Cancel Progressive Policy
Other Types Of Insurance
Although it is not required by law, many drivers buy other types of insurance coverage in addition to the mandatory PIP and property damage liability insurance. Common optional coverage purchased includes: collision, comprehensive, uninsured motorist, medical payment, towing, rental reimbursement, and accidental death and dismemberment.
Collision insurance pays for repairs to your car if it collides with another vehicle, crashes into an object or turns over. It pays regardless of who causes the accident. Collision insurance does not cover injuries to people or damage to the property of others.
Comprehensive insurance pays for losses from incidents other than a collision. Examples would be fire, theft, windstorm, vandalism, flood or hitting an animal. Damage caused by falling objects is also covered under this policy. If you have comprehensive coverage, windshield replacement is the only claim for which you are not charged a deductible. Florida law requires this waiver to encourage drivers to immediately replace damaged windshields.
You may be required to purchase comprehensive and collision insurance if your car is financed. However, it is illegal for the lending institution to require you to purchase insurance from a particular company or agent.
Do You Need To Have Insurance To Register A Car In Florida
The laws surrounding car registration and insurance in the Sunshine State
In Florida, whether youre registering a car for the first time or renewing your registration, youll need car insurance beforehand. But knowing that you have to do something and knowing how to do it are two different things. Weve scoured the state of Floridas websites to show you exactly how to register your car so you dont get penalized.
Read Also: State Farm Pet Insurance Cost
Who Has The Cheapest Rates For 30
Cheapest Auto Insurance Providers In Florida For 30-Year-Old Drivers With One At-Fault Crash
Drivers seeking only state-specific Florida insurance coverage with one at-fault crash should check with the firms that had the lowest average rates which include Progressive, Geico, Allstate, State Farm, Esurance, and Travelers.
Agents not required.
Get quotes and sign up online without talking to an agent. But, we are here if you need us.
Unbiased, expert advice.
You can get auto insurance coverage within minutes of getting your quotes and applying.
Who Has The Cheapest Car Insurance Florida For Young Drivers
Progressive has the cheapest car insurance rates in Florida for young drivers. While Progressive may have some of the lowest pricing on average, its worth noting that other companies such as Esurance and Geico also offer affordable car insurance for young drivers. Your rates will vary based on different factors.
Don’t Miss: What Does Life Insurance Term Length Mean
Sr22 And Fr44 Insurance In Florida
SR22s and FR44s, though similar, are two different insuring filings. One of these filings will be required to restore your driving privileges. An FR44 is required if you are convicted of a DUI/DWI. An SR22 is required if you are cited for driving without insurance or commit serious traffic violations, among other infractions. In Florida, insurance companies are required to file SR22 and FR44 certification records electronically to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
The Simple Guide To Auto Insurance Requirements In Florida
Florida car insurance can be complicated. More than complicated: convoluted, complex and just plain confusing. Maybe one day, the state will simplify things but until then, well walk you through Floridas car insurance laws.
If all you want to do is find affordable car insurance that meets Florida car insurance requirements, then go ahead and compare quotes for cheap car insurance on Compare.com . If you want to know more about the ins and outs of the states regulations keep reading
Don’t Miss: How To Cancel Cigna Dental Insurance
Cheapest Full Coverage Car Insurance In Florida For 30
Drivers in Florida with clean driving records may get the lowest rates from these companies:
State Farm: $1,993 per year, or about $166 per month.
Geico: $2,206 per year, or about $184 per month.
Allstate: $2,680 per year, or about $223 per month.
MetLife: $2,957 per year, or about $246 per month.
Progressive: $3,436 per year, or about $286 per month.
Florida Car Insurance Laws
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles , all drivers in the state must have auto insurance coverage. If you are pulled over, you can be fined for not having valid proof of Florida car insurance. So be sure to have your insurance ID card when you drive.
Two important Florida car insurance laws to be aware of are the Financial Responsibility Law and the No-Fault Law:
- The Financial Responsibility Lawrequires certain drivers to carry full liability auto insurance coverage due to their driving history. These drivers include those at fault for past accidents resulting in injury to others, those who have received excessive points against their license, a DUI or a revocation due to serious and/or repeated offenses.
- The Florida No-Fault Lawrequires all drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection . This coverage helps pay the insured’s medical bills in the event of an accident, regardless of fault. People often think drivers can’t be legally pursued for injuries they cause in an accident because Florida is a No-Fault state, but that isn’t right. No-Fault just means that drivers involved in an accident rely on their own car insurance providers to pay for subsequent costs.
Recommended Reading: American Income Life Commission Structure
Car Insurance Discounts In Florida
Regardless of your initial premium quote, insurance discounts could help you get cheaper car insurance. Your driving habits, vehicle safety features, or preferred payment method could all help you save on your car insurance. Some common auto insurance discounts in Florida are:
- Young driver discounts: Young drivers can be expensive to insure, but you can find cheap car insurance for teens by utilizing discounts. Good student discounts, distant student discounts and driver training discounts are common.
- Safe driver discounts: Many companies offer usage-based telematics insurance programs, which track your driving patterns with a mobile app or plug-in device. Based on how safely you drive and how much you drive, you might earn a substantial discount. You might also save if you drive a certain number of years without filing a claim and incur no moving violations.
- Other discounts: If you buy your auto and home policies through the same company, you will often be rewarded with a bundling discount on both. Some companies offer this discount for combining your auto coverage with other lines of insurance, too, like pet, life or business insurance. You might also save by signing up for paperless billing or automatic payments.
Discounts vary by carrier, so speaking with your agent or company representative is often the best way to learn what savings opportunities might be available to you.
Car Insurance Laws In Florida
Car insurance laws in Florida are relatively straightforward:
- Car insurance is legally required: Drivers in Florida must carry no-fault insurance before they can register and legally operate their vehicle in the state.
- Insurance must be purchased from a licensed provider: Florida drivers must purchase car insurance from an insurance company licensed in Florida.
- Continuous coverage: Vehicle owners must maintain continuous insurance coverage throughout the registration period, regardless of the cars location. The only exception is for military members.
- Policy cancellation: Florida drivers who move out-of-state must surrender their vehicles license plates and registration before they cancel their insurance policy.
Also Check: Foundation Leaks Covered By Insurance
Do You Have To Have Insurance To Register A Car In Florida
- Property damage liability: $10,000 minimum limit
- Medical payments coverage: $10,000 limits per person and per accident
Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that if you get into an accident and its your fault, each party will pay for their own injuries. You would only be financially responsible for the other partys property damage.
Once you have the minimum insurance required, its time to register your car . This process will look different for Florida residents versus non-residents. Lets start with the Floridians.