Monday, July 4, 2022

What Car Insurance Is Required By Law In Florida

Don't Miss

Florida Insurance Requirements Florida Department Of Highway Safety And Motor Vehicles

Florida Car Insurance: What’s Required – Randy Thompson – The Law Show

SR22 an insurance filing certifying bodily injury liability and property damage liability to comply with the reinstatement requirements of the Florida Financial Responsibility Law. Self-Insurance. Section 324.171, Florida Statutes outlines the financial requirements for the department to issue a certificate to qualified individuals

Car Insurance Laws In Florida

Car insurance laws in Florida are relatively straightforward:

  • Car insurance is legally required: Drivers in Florida must carry no-fault insurance before they can register and legally operate their vehicle in the state.
  • Insurance must be purchased from a licensed provider: Florida drivers must purchase car insurance from an insurance company licensed in Florida.
  • Continuous coverage: Vehicle owners must maintain continuous insurance coverage throughout the registration period, regardless of the cars location. The only exception is for military members.
  • Policy cancellation: Florida drivers who move out-of-state must surrender their vehicles license plates and registration before they cancel their insurance policy.

Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law

Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law states that drivers must provide financial coverage of at least $20,000 per accident and $10,000 per person if they cause a car accident. Uninsured motorists must still post a bond to meet this coverage. This law also requires that drivers cover up to $10,000 for potential property damage. The combined single limit under this law that is, the minimum coverage a driver in Florida must have is $30,000.

Fortunately, most car insurance companies cover this minimum amount, and some offer plans that cover much more. In addition to requiring liability coverage for accidents that cause injuries, this law requires coverage for DUI citations, suspensions due to driver’s license demerits, and revocations due to serious traffic offenses.

Also Check: Does Car Insurance Cover Broken Windshield

How Does Personal Injury Protection Insurance Work In Florida

PIP insurance covers your medical expenses due to an accident, regardless of who’s at fault. If you have this type of insurance policy, your family members are also covered, along with any passengers who don’t have personal injury protection, provided they don’t own a registered vehicle.

If your passengers have PIP Insurance and suffer injuries, their own insurance covers their medical payments. In addition, licensed drivers who drive your vehicle with your consent are covered by your PIP Insurance. PIP covers other circumstances in Florida as well, such as if your child is hurt while riding a school bus or if you’re hurt while biking or crossing the street.

Florida requires anyone who owns a vehicle with four or more wheels to get at least $10,000 of PIP coverage. The main benefit of a no-fault auto insurance policy and personal injury protection is that monthly premiums are low due to quick payouts and fewer lawsuits. The main drawback is that reckless drivers aren’t as likely to lose major assets in an accident, resulting in less of an incentive to drive well.

Fraud also results from PIP insurance, as clinics sometimes play up injuries to receive the full $10,000 payout. Florida drivers can also get extended personal injury protection, which covers all medical expenses and four-fifths of lost wages.

Personal Injury Protection Insurance

Quick Answer: What Car Insurance Is Required In Florida ...

Personal Injury Protection insurance covers you if injured in a motor vehicle accident.

Regardless of who is at fault in causing the accident, your medical bills and lost wages must be submitted first to your own auto insurance company. This is why PIP insurance is also known as “no-fault insurance”.

PIP insurance pays 80% of your medical expenses and 60% of your lost wages. PIP may also cover a percentage of other expenses such as lawn maintenance or housekeeping necessitated by your injuries and also mileage for medical care treatment.

You have only 14 days to seek initial medical treatment in order to make a claim for PIP insurance coverage. If you fail to seek treatment within 14 days, your insurance company may deny payment.

Florida law requires $10,000 minimum in PIP coverage. However, you have the right to purchase more than $10,000.

Read Also: American Income Insurance Scam

Florida Car Insurance Laws What Drivers Need To Know

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requires all drivers in Florida to have auto insurance. However, some of the Sunshine State’s car insurance requirements differ from elsewhere in the U.S. Here’s a breakdown of the minimum coverage you need to stay on the right side of Florida law.

Minimum Florida Car Insurance Requirements

When buying car insurance in Florida, you’ll need at least the following amounts of coverage:

Coverage
Personal injury protection$10,000 per accident

Property damage liability pays to repair the property of others if you’re at fault in an accident. For example, if you lose control of your car and rear-end another driver, property damage liability coverage would pay for repairs to the other vehicle.

You’re required to carry at least $10,000 of liability coverage, though we recommend buying more. Adding additional liability coverage is not expensive and can save you from having to pay thousands of dollars out of pocket if you’re responsible for a car crash. Note that this coverage does not pay for damage to your own car or personal property.

Personal injury protection pays for your medical expenses, regardless of fault. In Florida, PIP only covers 80% of the cost of care. If you’re injured in a crash, you’ll have to pay for the remaining 20% with either your health insurance or your own money.

You can purchase $10,000 of PIP coverage per accident, but you won’t be able to increase your limits. This coverage also includes a $5,000 death benefit and a disability benefit that reimburses the policyholder for 60% of lost income if they’re unable to work due to injuries.

Each part of the PIP limit counts toward the combined $10,000 maximum that your insurer will pay out per accident. These benefits extend to people in your household, unless they have their own insurance policy.

Don’t Miss: Does State Farm Do Pet Insurance

Florida Teen Driving Laws

Florida uses a graduated licensing system. This system allows teen drivers to safely gain driving experience under varied conditions and circumstances before obtaining full driving privileges. It’s important for teens and parents to understand these laws:

  • At the age of 15, a teen may apply for a learner’s license.
  • For the first 90 days with a learner’s license, a teen may only drive during daylight hours. After 90 days, the learner’s license allows a teen to drive until 10:00 PM. A licensed driver over the age of 21 must always accompany the teen driver.
  • After a teen has held a learner’s license for at least one year, and has at least 50 hours of certified practice, 10 of which must be at night, the teen may apply for a driver’s license.
  • At 16 years old, a teen with a driver’s license generally may only drive between 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM.
  • At 17 years old, a teen with a driver’s license generally may drive only between 5:00 AM – 1:00 AM.
  • Most license restrictions are lifted when a driver reaches 18 years of age.

Crashes Involving Property Damage Only

DeSantis vetoes proposed No Fault Motor Vehicle Insurance law in Florida

If the at-fault driver was charged with a moving violation, and vehicle or property damage were noted on the crash report, Florida Financial Responsibility Law requires the owner of the at fault vehicle to have compulsory coverage in effect at the time of the crash. This coverage includes:

  • $10,000 property damage liability per crash, and
  • personal injury protection limits of $10,000 per person per crash.

If the owner of the at-fault vehicle did not have this coverage, the department requires the at-fault owner to:

  • Obtain releases from the other parties for their vehicle/property damages, or post a security deposit with the department in the amounts listed on the crash report,
  • Purchase $10,000 PIP/$10,000 PDL insurance or surrender the Florida plate and registration and
  • Pay a $150 $500 reinstatement fee, if applicable.
  • Don’t Miss: Car Insurance Cancellation Letter Progressive

    What Car Insurance Is Required In Florida

    What car insurance is required in Florida? Every driver, no matter what state they live in, is required by law to have automobile insurance. This is a legal requirement, and if you dont have it, you can get ticketed and have your license suspended. Having automobile insurance is one of the first things you need to do if you move to Florida from some other state. Its a good idea to start shopping around for auto insurance before you move to Florida, so that you know what the cost will be when you purchase it.

    There are many factors that go into determining what Florida automobile insurance laws are. The area where you live is going to have an effect on what the minimum coverage is, as is your age, how long you have been driving, and even your credit score. The more factors that you consider that determine your insurance rates, the harder it will be for you to get a good deal when you are looking for Florida car insurance. Just like with any other insurance policy, the more factors that you can control, the better your chances are of getting a decent rate on your insurance.

    • TAGS

    Required Minimum Pip Insurance In Florida

    Florida requires only very low coverage amounts, and uses a no-fault system of auto insurance. If youre injured in a car accident youll first make a claim on your own personal injury protection insurance .

    Florida requires:

    • $10,000 in property damage liability coverage

    Basic PIP insurance in Florida covers:

    • 80% of necessary medical costs, such as ambulance costs, doctor bills, X-rays, nursing, surgery, dental work and prosthetic devices. Florida PIP will cover massage and acupuncture bills after an accident. It also covers:
    • 60% of lost wages if you cant work due to the injuries
    • Replacement services for household tasks you cant do because of the accident
    • $5,000 in death benefits

    Youll choose a deductible for PIP. The choices are no deductible, $250, $500 or $1,000. A deductible is the amount deducted from a PIP claim check. The higher the deductible, the lower your PIP cost will be.

    Don’t Miss: Is Veneer Covered By Insurance

    Please Answer A Few Questions To Help Us Match You With Attorneys In Your Area

    Step 1 of 8

  • yes
  • Anyone wanting to register a four-wheeled motor vehicle in Florida must carry certain minimum amounts of car insurance coverage on that vehicle. And it’s important to understand how the state’s car insurance system works in case you’re involved in a car accident:

    • Florida is a “no-fault” car insurance state, which means the insurance claim process is meant to be more efficient after a car accident, since your own insurance pays for your medical bills and other economic losses.
    • Your ability to file a lawsuit and recover compensation for non-economic losses like “pain and suffering” is limited under Florida’s no-fault rules.
    • Required car insurance in Florida includes personal injury protection , which covers you and certain others, and Property Damage Liability , which covers damage to someone else’s vehicle in an accident caused by you.

    The Insurance Company Is Required By Law To Handle Your Claim In Good Faith

    Car Insurance As Required By Law

    Under Florida law, insurance companies are required to handle all claims in good faith. Unfortunately, many do not, and many claimants fall victim to bad-faith insurance practices. If your insurance company denies your claim in bad faith, then not only are you entitled to coverage, but you are entitled to additional compensation for the losses you incur as a result of the insurance companys bad-faith insurance practices.

    Recommended Reading: What Is American Income Life

    Car Insurance Requirements And Optional Coverage For Florida Drivers

    There are severe consequences for failure to purchase insurance for vehicles registered in Florida.

    For each violation, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your driving privileges, vehicle license plate, and registration for up to three years.

    If drivers later obtain insurance, they can get their licenses and privileges reinstated by providing DHSMV with proof of insurance and paying a penalty reinstatement fee of up to $500.

    In no-fault insurance states, each driver involved in an accident collects injury and property costs from his insurer. Since drivers pay for their coverage, it’s a good idea to select more than the bare minimum of coverage on a policy, since they will directly benefit after a collision.

    The following are some possible additions to your car insurance policy.

    Personal Injury Protection Insurance

    The Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law requires all four-wheeled vehicles to be insured with a minimum of $10,000 of PIP. These benefits pay for the medical expenses of a crash, as well as some of the related costs of an accident, such as grocery delivery or housecleaning services while a victim recovers.

    In addition to the named insured, the policy also covers the policyholders children, members of his or her household, and any passengers who are uninsured under other policies. If you’re injured while riding in someone elses vehicle, you’ll claim coverage for your injuries under your own PIP.

    Property Damage Liability Insurance

    Florida Car Insurance Laws

    Auto insurance requirements in Florida. Florida law requires that all drivers must carry certain amounts of car insurance coverage. However, as a no-fault state, the requirements for Florida drivers are quite different than in many states. Bodily injury liability coverage is one such requirement a mandatory coverage in most states, Florida car insurance laws do not require it, instead relying

    Recommended Reading: Does Geico Cover Slashed Tires

    Is Car Insurance Required In Florida

    Like most states, Florida requires drivers to have car insurance. However, Floridas car insurance laws are much different from most other states. Florida has no-fault car insurance laws, which not only can result in higher rates but can also cause some difficulties in an accident. There are specific car insurance requirements for all Florida drivers and additional coverage options that you might consider.

    How To Find Affordable Auto Insurance Coverage In Florida

    Florida Minimum Car Insurance Requirements| Leesburg – Villages FL Insurance Lawyer Explains

    Floridas no-fault laws, high amount of uninsured drivers, and crowded roadways all combine to make Florida one of the most expensive states to insure your vehicle. In fact, only in Michigan and Louisiana will you see higher average auto insurance rates than in the Sunshine State. Because of this, you need to be prudent in your hunt for auto insurance if you do not want to be paying through the roof for coverage. The best way to find cheap rates is to compare quotes from different providers in Florida. Use the quote tool at the top of our page to be connected to the top auto insurance companies in your locale. To begin, simply enter your Florida zip code in the box above.

    Help protect yourself on the roadwith Insurance Panda

    You May Like: Pet Liability Insurance State Farm

    What Coverage Is Recommended In Florida

    It is recommended that you get car insurance coverage to cover property damages to your own vehicle. If the at-fault driver in the car accident doesnt have insurance or adequate coverage, you want to be sure that you can get your car repaired or replaced. Youll also want coverage for your personal property damages if you are at-fault in an accident. You may also want to protect your car against vandalism, theft, and natural disasters.

    The Simple Guide To Auto Insurance Requirements In Florida

    Florida car insurance can be complicated. More than complicated: convoluted, complex and just plain confusing. Maybe one day, the state will simplify things but until then, well walk you through Floridas car insurance laws.

    If all you want to do is find affordable car insurance that meets Florida car insurance requirements, then go ahead and compare quotes for cheap car insurance on Compare.com . If you want to know more about the ins and outs of the states regulations keep reading

    Read Also: What Does Travelocity Travel Insurance Cover

    What Does It Cost To Hire Us

    We provide absolutely free confidential consultations, and if we are fortunate enough for you to hire us, we never will charge you any fees or costs unless you first recover.

    The contingency fee we charge ranges from 20% to 40% depending upon how much we recover for you.

    Our fee should be identical to or less than what other lawyers are charging, especially in Florida, as the amount is controlled by The Florida Bar. This is true whether your lawyers have never handled an accident case or whether it has been the focus of their practice for more than 65 years, as with our law firm. For a detailed discussion on our fees and costs, click Fees & Costs.

    Driving Without Car Insurance

    Car Insurance Florida Requirements

    If you are caught driving without car insurance in Florida, you certainly arent alone. State officials estimate 1 in 4 drivers in the Sunshine State dont have auto insurance as required by law.

    Driving without insurance is illegal in Florida, and its a serious problem that could result in the suspension or revocation of your drivers license.

    At The Ansara Law Firm, our Fort Lauderdale traffic ticket attorneys will fight to protect your right to legally operate a vehicle in Florida if you are cited for driving without insurance. Depending on the facts of your case, you could be facing hefty fines and a loss of your license for months or even years on end. Its important that you take action as soon as you receive notice that you have been caught driving without insurance.

    Although some traffic crimes are frequently prosecuted as criminal offenses in Florida, driving without car insurance isnt one of them. However, it can quickly spiral into a criminal charge if your license is suspended and you continue to drive.

    If you can sidestep this outcome early on, you can likely avoid bigger headaches later.

    Florida Auto Insurance Requirements

    Auto insurance is mandatory for those who are driving a vehicle or registering any vehicle with four wheels.

    As noted by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor vehicles , the law requires drivers to at all times maintain a minimum of:

    • $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage
    • $10,000 in property damage liability.

    Also Check: Does Car Insurance Cover Chipped Windshield

    More articles

    Popular Articles